Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Association News

VWEA's 2019 Award Winners

Friday, September 20, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kathy Rabalais


It is with great pleasure that VWEA recognizes and congratulates the 2019 Award recipients recognized at WaterJAM in Virginia Beach.  It is our opportunity to recognize individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions to the water environment profession and to the Federation and its Member Associations. 

Sonny Roden Meritious Service Award

Scott Shirley, Western VA Water Authority

The award is intended to recognize Association members who have provided extraordinary personal service, devotion and sacrifice to the Association over an extended period of time.  It is recognition of service to VWEA committees, elected offices and most importantly, commitment of personal time and effort to furthering the Association and profession above and beyond that which is normally given.  This medal is rarely given and is truly an honor to receive.


VWEA/VA AWWA Outstanding Young Professional

Dana Hargrove, Hazen and Sawyer

The Outstanding Young Professionals Award recognizes a VWEA or Virginia Section AWWA young professional, 35 years old or younger at time of nomination, who, through individual effort, has made significant contributions to VWEA or the Virginia Section in the form of activities including: volunteer work, committee work, leadership activities and/or conference paper presentations.

Enslow-Hedgepeth Award

Andy Landrum, Whitman, Requardt and Associates

The award is presented to an individual who has shown outstanding service to the association and has made outstanding contributions or accomplished outstanding achievement in the water environment profession.


WEF Arthur Sidney Bedell Award

Marty Malone, CDM Smith

The award acknowledges extraordinary personal service to a Member Association.


The WEF George W. Burke Facility Safety Award

Fairfax County, Noman M. Cole, Jr. Pollution Control Plant

The VWEA Facility Safety Award  

UOSA, Millard H. Robbins, Jr. Advanced Water Reclamation Facility

The VWEA Facility Safety Awards encourages members to engage in an active and effective safety program in municipal and industrial wastewater treatment. Utilities are evaluated on evidence of a good safety record, facility written safety programs, maintenance of all safety equipment, a visual inspection of the facility for safety compliance and level of security, any other information that would complement the facilities safety compliance and level of security, safety training program & documentation and maintenance of treatment / process equipment. 

WEF Laboratory Analyst Award

Sam Farag, Fairfax County

The WEF Laboratory Analyst Award recognizes an individual for outstanding performance, professionalism and contributions to the water quality analysis profession.

WEF William D. Hatfield Award

Matt Williamson, HRSD’s Williamsburg Treatment Plant

The WEF Hatfield Award recognizes operators of wastewater treatment plants for outstanding performance and professionalism.

A.H. Paessler Environmental Stewardship Award

Melanie Davenport, VA DEQ

The award recognizes a government employee’s service to the water environment field and to the Association.


Public Official Award

Delegate David Bulova, Virginia House of Delegates

The award recognizes an elected or appointed public official that has made document, significant contributions in the area of clean water legislation.


Golden Manhole Award

Kyle Logue, Brown and Caldwell

The award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of wastewater collection systems, including Design, Education, Training, Certification, Construction, Operations, Maintenance, and Management.


Stormwater Splash Award

Normand Goulet, Northern Virginia Regional Commission

The award recognizes dedication and service to the Stormwater Management field


5-S (Select Society of Sanitary Sludge Shovelers)

Alicia Connelly, Newport News Shipbuilding

Jeff McBride, Chesterfield County

Jeff McInnis, AECOM
As an honorary society, individuals are nominated and selected by society members for significant and repeated effort toward making VWEA a better Association. Activities may include technical presentations, serving as instructors at various workshops, serving as officer or as the chair of a productive committee, or as an active committee member, and putting time and effort into VWEA, which in the opinion of the Selection Committee, are worth recognition.

Contact Us|About Us|How do I Join
P.O. Box 2324, Glen Allen, VA 23058-2324 | | (804) 332-5286

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal