Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Scholarship Committee
Committee Leadership


Allison Lee
Hazen and Sawyer
(703) 537-7908

Ali Nemati
Vice Chair

Jun Meng
Greeley and Hansen
Board Liaison
VWEA's Scholarship Committee was formed to promote and award scholarships for various categories of students at Virginia institutions studying civil or environmental engineering, physical or environmental sciences, or wastewater treatment plant courses in pursuit of an operator’s license. VWEA is focused on increasing opportunities for students who have a desire to work in a water related field. 

The committee membership consists of members interested in promoting VWEA’s Scholarships and reviewing applications. Additional volunteers are needed for the committee. Volunteers assist in the preparation of scholarship applications, promotion of the scholarships and review of applications. If you are interested in volunteering for the committee please contact Allison Lee,

Seven different scholarships are offered each year. To learn more and download the applications visit the scholarship page here

2019 Awardees

VT Wastewater Operator Short School Scholarship:

Alex Summers, Town of Abingdon

Lacy Burnette, Western VA Water Authority

Matthew Stinson, Chesterfield County

VWEA Member Dependent Scholarship: Camille Wilson

Camille is a 2nd year at UVA working towards her Bachelor of Science, Environmental Science with a Specialization in Environmental and Biological Conservation.

VWEA Rising Freshman Scholarship: Isabel Hendrix

Isabel will be a Freshman at Virginia Tech majoring in Engineering.

VWEA Undergraduate Scholarship: Christopher Kelly

Christopher is a senior at ODU majoring in civil engineering.

VWEA Sonny Roden Graduate Scholarship: Yewei Sun

Yewei is a PhD. student at Virginia Tech in Environmental Engineering


Contact Us|About Us|How do I Join
P.O. Box 2324, Glen Allen, VA 23058-2324 | | (804) 332-5286

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal